Staff and Board of Directors

Working together to serve the poor.

Our Team

Our compassionate team is dedicated to bringing dignity and hope to the homeless and poor in the Hampton Roads area.


Rev. John W. Gray, Jr.
Executive Director
(757) 627-8686 ext 552
Linda Bashford Vaughan
Executive Director, Emeritus
(757) 627-8686 ext 552
Frank White, III.
Chief Financial Officer
Hope Haven Children’s Home Administrator
(757) 627-8686 ext 556
Rev. William T. Crawley
Associate Director
(757) 627-8686 ext 231
Helen Hayes Sommer
Director of Development
(757) 627-8686 ext 504
Linda C. Jones
Public Relations Director
(757) 627-8686 ext 426
Laura Farthing
Major Gifts Officer
(757) 627-8686 ext 503
Rachel Hall
Women and Children’s Shelter Administrator
(757) 627-8686 ext 355
Christina Geisler
Volunteer Engagement Coordinator
(757) 627-8686 ext 415

Board of Directors

James R. Herndon President
John DeVan First Vice-President
Joseph F. Sprankle, III Second Vice-President
Thomas P. Hardee Secretary
Luther M. Brown Treasurer
E. Lee Baynor Director Emeritus
Joe C. Branham
Lonnie J. Broussard
Donald L. Broyles
Philip R. Farthing
Rev. Horacio R. Hall
Rev. Edward K. Haywood
S. Paul Hobbs
Samuel E. Luke, Jr.
Foster J. Matter
Teresa Moyer
P. Gay Williams

Stay Informed

Subscribe to the latest news from the Mission.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.